Lost without HD

I’m feeling bittersweet about the season premier of Lost tonight. On one hand, I’m excited to get the ball of mystery rolling again. On the other hand, it won’t be in HD on my TV. My awesome LCD has to push a regular crappy signal thanks to DirecPath cable.

I’m stuck with DirecPath cable thanks to the previous owner of the Apartment complex who signed a 10-year exclusive agreement with them. DirecPath offers HD programming IF you buy their stupid proprietary box. You can’t rent it, you have to buy it.

Believe you me, DirectPath, as soon as we move, I’m never going to use you again. Therefore, I have no need of your silly box. Well, except that right now, I wish I was going to be watching Lost in HD.

Behold the difference:

Lost in HD:

Lost not in HD:

4 responses to “Lost without HD

  1. Damn yeah, you just reminded me it starts tonight…and I’m WORKING!!!! AGH!

    Anyhoo, this will be the first season I’ve actually wanted to watch on TV rather than just watching them in one gigantic marathon on DVD. I have a feeling it’s going to be a very frustrating few months.

  2. Mostly Muppet

    Yeah, this is the first season that we have HD to truly see the difference and it’s amazing. Sorry you missed it.

    There were actually times last night when Channel 2 squeezed the show back to SD to show weather news and when they went back to full screen you saw SD for a second that resolved to HD. Best real-world example of just how much better it can be.

    What’d you think of the episode, video quality notwithstanding.

  3. I really enjoyed the show. I wish I could go back and watch it over. (We had a Comcast DVR but had to give it up to switch to DirecPath. We haven’t bought a Tivo yet.) I like how they are doing the flash-forwards. It offers so many more opportunities for speculation. I’m very excited for this season.

  4. Ok, that got a chuckle out of me.

    Did you see the Lost stuff I posted? There’s all kinds of hidden stuff on the oceanic-air.com site and find815.com. Hoop and I are totally Lost nerds now.

Leave a comment