Snow in Mexico

There’s so much to talk about with the performance, I don’t know where to begin. I had so much fun. The lights were blinding on the stage. I couldn’t see anything. I’m sure I was squinting. I was in and out of consciousness. I was hoping that when I was up there that my performance instincts would take over. Too bad I don’t really have any yet.

I would get in a groove and snap out of occasionally to realize, I’m standing in front of strangers. I have their attention. I have to be funny. Those are the times I slipped.

Overall, I think I did well. My friends and family all enjoyed it. The crowd laughed at most of my jokes. My second-to-last joke got a lot bigger response than I expected. When the laughter died down, I drew a blank and forgot the topper. I was too busy thinking, “holy sh*t, they loved that one. I’m glad I kept it in. They’re going to love it when I say…” yeah, that’s when I forgot.

Jeff told us that we would be on such a high afterwards that we’d have trouble sleeping. I went right to sleep. I was disappointed that I didn’t have the huge buzz afterwards. Maybe because I wasn’t completely happy with my performance. I spoke too fast, rearranged some words. I didn’t feel natural up there, I knew the crowed was open to us all and already good and warmed up for me.

However, the more I think about it, the more excited I get. I really want to do some open mics. I want to build a lot more material. I want to get comfortable performing and I want to make it fun. So now, I guess I take the next steps.

Thanks to all the people who showed up. My Family, friends, friends of friends. Those who tried to come and couldn’t, thank you too. I’ll let you see the DVD when I get it in a few weeks. Thanks to everyone who supported me on this blog, I’ll give you links to the YouTube video when I get it up. You all helped immensely and when I’m a Big Star, and I pass you on the street, I’ll glance in your direction and give you a nod of recognition. Just don’t approach me, or my Body Guards will hurt you.

8 responses to “Snow in Mexico

  1. You did so great last night and I am so proud of you!!! You looked like a natural up there and it was great to see that your hard work paid off. Can’t wait for the DVD!

  2. I Can Has Assassination! Just classic.

  3. Thanks, aim. Biggest mad proppin’ ups go to you. Thanks for supporting all the madness. <3 you.

    barry: I’m glad you guys were there, otherwise aimee would have been the only one laughing at that joke. Thanks to you hakeber for showing up and bringing a peep.

  4. Yes, please post UTube linkies! Us far away friends want too see it too!

  5. Sounds like the show went great! Can’t wait to see it. Congrats!

  6. I can’t WAIT to see the YouTube!!! 🙂 That’s so awesome!

  7. I’m sure you were really good! I can’t wait to see the video. You’re going to post it on here right?

  8. Well it sounds like a cracker of a first gig – congrats!!! Don’t be so hard on yourself re: mixing up your words, etc, it’s only your first time! Your writing’s already freaking hilarious (judging purely from your blog) and you’ll just get more and more comfy up there as you keep going. So…just keep going!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

