Pac-Man Returns

This past Saturday night, I did a bad, bad thing. I had a moment of weakness and I am very sorry it happened. last night, I finally told Aimee what I did. She was bewildered at first, but appreciated my honesty. I’m not sure she completely accepts what happened, but she agreed to look at the situation objectively and with an open mind.

See, that night, I was surfing the internet and I ran across an old friend. This friend and I have a long history. When I saw their picture, a flood of happy memories filled my head and warmed my heart. It had been so long. So very long. I lost myself in the past. I forgot who I am today. I lost control…

…and I bought this lamp on Ebay.

I had one when I was a kid. It was one of my most favorite possessions. I spent minutes staring at it while 80’s Pop blasted from my clock radio. It was a magical time.

However, when I started middle school, I was suddenly too cool to have it in my bedroom. I threw it in a box in my closet. Eventually, it was crushed. I acted as if I didn’t care, but I did. I hurt.

See, I love sparkly, shiny things, which explains my love for Las Vegas, Strippers and fishing lures. Thank goodness that I’m not a fish. I’d have been catch of the day a long time ago.

This lamp is sparkly and shiny and sparkly some more. The outer shell of the lamp is stationary, but the inside spins when the heat from the bulb rises through the blades on top. This makes it sparkly and shiny. Did I mention that?

It came in the original box, with the original instructions. The outer shell is flawless. There are some scuffs on the inner cylinder. Inky, the blue ghost, is half-white from fading. Other than that, it’s an exact copy of my beloved lamp from my childhood.

Now if I can just track down some Tomy Pocket Bots.

After the wedding, I promise.

2 responses to “Pac-Man Returns

  1. Oh, I was suddenly transported to 1983. Golly, I can teleport myself back to being a kid in seconds with the sound of a keyboard and the smell of Aqua Net.

    The Tomy Bots, well that annoying little sound they make was all fresh and new again.

  2. You can’t be blamed for this purchase. Hell, the lamp means nothing to me and I want one now.

Leave a Reply

